This is …
Rugbytown USA

Glendale, Colorado : Powered by Core Power
Proud Sponsor

Featured Video

Featured Video
Proud Sponsor
Stay Connected:
Get the Latest Information
Invalid Input

NSCRO Small College National Championships

April 26-27, 2014
The National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO, pronounced EN’-scrow) was co-founded by Steve Cohen and Chip Auscavitch in 2007 to organize the Division 3 and 4 college rugby national playoff system. These championships have become a vital part in developing collegiate rugby in the U.S. and are now known as the Small College National Championships. The best small college rugby clubs are just that and to say that they are a Division 3 club does not fully recognize their level of play, commitment to the sport and accomplishments both on and off the pitch.

April 26
Semifinal Saint John’s (MN) vs. University of Denver St. John’s 42, DU 33
Semifinal New England College vs. Mount St. Mary’s (MD) NEC 54, The Mount 36

April 27
Third Place Mount St. Mary’s (MD) vs. University of Denver DU 45, The Mount 37
Final New England College vs. Saint John’s (MN) Saint John’s 37, NEC 25

There are currently over 210 men’s and over 70 women’s teams participating in local Unions and Conferences with their eye on the prize of the NSCRO Small College National Championship. This represents nearly 40% of all colleges playing rugby in the U.S. Clubs who want to participate in the NSCRO playoffs must be members in good standing of a local governing body in a league system, be recognized as a club or team in good standing by their college/university and be a member of USA Rugby.

One of NSCRO’s goals is to establish a level playing field for small colleges to compete against schools with similar resources, especially in terms of student enrollment. While there are some NSCRO playoff-eligible small colleges that are capable of competing against Division I and II teams, few can sustain this level of play season after season.

Infinity Park’s rugby stadium

Since NSCRO was formed we have had a goal to continually better the stage for players to showcase their talents. We strive to find excellent hosts for our National Championship events. For men we were hosted at Wake Forest University in 2007, Hamilton College in 2008 and the South Jersey RFC in 2009. In 2010 and again in 2011 we raised the bar with the use of the outstanding Virginia Beach Sportsplex Stadium. In 2011, we added live web streaming of all matches as well as post-event DVD production. In 2012, we took two major steps forward in raising the profile of Small College Rugby by holding the National Championship event at Infinity Park stadium and by providing National television coverage of the semifinal matches by FOX Soccer Plus. NSCRO continues to provide free live streaming of all of our Men’s and Women’s National Championships. In 2013, we returned to Infinity Park and will be there in 2014.

NSCRO inaugurated its Men’s National 7s Championship in 2013 with Occidental College winning the Championship. For 2014, NSCRO will again hold its Championship (May 31-June 1) in conjunction with United World Sports’ (formerly USA Sevens) Collegiate Rugby Championship (CRC 7s) at PPL Park. 8 qualifying 7s tournaments are being held in the Spring to determine who will participate.

NSCRO is planning to inaugurate its Women’s National 7s Championship this Spring on May 3-4 at Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids, Michigan in conjunction with ACRA’s 7s Championship.

In early 2013, NSCRO and USA Rugby reached an agreement that provide NSCRO with USA Rugby’s support and recognition of NSCRO as an independent organization, sharing similar goals for bettering the collegiate rugby experience.

NSCRO is the home of Small College Rugby and is dedicated to its growth and development.

For more information, visit NSCRO on line at

AddThis Social Bookmark Button